Since 1974, Susquehanna Township has operated under what is commonly referred to as the council-manager form of government. In the council-manager form of government, the council is the governing body of the municipal entity, elected by the public, and the manager is hired by the council, based on his or her professional merits and qualifications, to carry out the policies established by the council.  In Susquehanna Township, the governing body is called the Board of Commissioners and the manager is called the Township Manager.

The Board of Commissioners provides legislative direction while the Township Manager is responsible for administering the day-to-day administrative operations of the Township consistent with the Board of Commissioners' policy decisions.  The Township Manager serves as the Board of Commissioners' chief advisor and serves at the pleasure of the governing body.  The specific powers of the office are established by Ordinance Chapter 1, Part 2, A. of the Township Codified Ordinances.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
David W. Kratzer, Jr. Secretary / Manager (717) 909-9222
Robert A. Martin Director of Public Safety (717) 909-9282
George C. Drees Fire Marshal (717) 909-9255
Betsy Logan, AICP Director of Community & Economic Development (717) 901-6050
Jill Lovett Director of Finance (717) 909-9227
Jonniene Urban Executive Assistant (717) 909-9222
Michael Rohrer Zoning / Planning Administrator (717) 909-9225
Joseph Vajda Building Codes Officer (717) 909-9226
Nate Spriggs Director of Public Works (717) 233-7143
Travis Mease Assistant Highway Superintendent (717) 233-7143
Jan Michael Summer Program Director (717)-909-9279
Melissa Foltz Finance Assistant and HR Clerk 717-540-4292
Kathryn Hartz Administrative Assistant 717-545-4751